Forums

Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

General discussion about Cobra. Releases and general news will also be posted here.
Feel free to ask questions or just say "Hello".

Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby pchapin » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:26 am

I just updated my working copy and then ran the install from workspace script. I'm on Windows 7, 64 bit. I have Visual Studio 2012 installed with .NET 4.5 (I believe it is). I'm getting:

Code: Select all
==== Install Cobra.Core library to the GAC

** ERROR: Cannot locate a gacutil. Maybe you can try again using the "Visual Studio Command Prompt
" or ".NET SDK Command Prompt".
You may need to install the Windows SDK (https://www.google.com/search?q=windows+sdk+.net+4)
Need help with the above error?
 * Make sure you ran as a Windows Administrator.
 * Install .NET or a Visual Studio product if you have not before.
 * Review http://cobra-language.com/troubleshooting
 * Ask at http://cobra-language.com/discuss
 * Ask at http://cobra-language.com/irc


When I first installed Visual Studio 2012 I had this problem... or at least a very similar one. In a thread on this forum (I can't find it) I posted some paths to the various .NET 4.5 entities. The issue was fixed (thanks) and all worked well. So it appears like the issue has returned... or else this is a different issue?
pchapin
 
Posts: 46
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby Charles » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:28 am

0.9.1 was a "patch release". Maybe I forgot to push the mods back into the repository. I'll check.
Charles
 
Posts: 2515
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby Charles » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:38 am

Well the change definitely made it in there:
http://cobra-language.com/trac/cobra/changeset/2807/

Maybe the culprit was this?
http://cobra-language.com/trac/cobra/changeset/2835/

I'll check on my Win 7 64-bit system.
Charles
 
Posts: 2515
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby Charles » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:49 am

Works for me on Win 7 64-bit. Copied from the installer output:
Code: Select all
run: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v8.0A\bin\NETFX 4.0 Tools\gacutil.exe -i Cobra.Core.dll -f

Do you have that path? Do you know enough Cobra to debug the installer yourself? The relevant method is:
def locateGacUtil(startStage as bool)  # line 589

Is the suggestion you got in the installer output revelant?:
Code: Select all
** ERROR: Cannot locate a gacutil. Maybe you can try again using the "Visual Studio Command Prompt
" or ".NET SDK Command Prompt".
You may need to install the Windows SDK (https://www.google.com/search?q=windows+sdk+.net+4)


My final result:
Code: Select all
>cobra -about
The Cobra Programming Language 0.9.2
on .NET CLR v4.0.30319 on Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
at C:\Cobra\Cobra-0.9.2\bin\cobra.exe
Charles
 
Posts: 2515
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby pchapin » Mon Nov 26, 2012 4:10 pm

Charles wrote:Works for me on Win 7 64-bit. Copied from the installer output:
Code: Select all
run: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v8.0A\bin\NETFX 4.0 Tools\gacutil.exe -i Cobra.Core.dll -f

Do you have that path?


I have gacutil.exe at the location mentioned above, yes.

Do you know enough Cobra to debug the installer yourself?


I could give it a shot but it will have to wait until tomorrow at least (or maybe later).

Is the suggestion you got in the installer output revelant?:
Code: Select all
** ERROR: Cannot locate a gacutil. Maybe you can try again using the "Visual Studio Command Prompt
" or ".NET SDK Command Prompt".
You may need to install the Windows SDK (https://www.google.com/search?q=windows+sdk+.net+4)


I could try using a Visual Studio Command Prompt also, however that wasn't necessary before.
pchapin
 
Posts: 46
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby nerdzero » Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:59 pm

I am getting the same error in Windows 8 64-bit.

Charles,

I think you have your Windows machine set to 32-bit CLR. Check that Ldr64.exe returns 1 instead of 0

Code: Select all
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Ldr64.exe query


When I switched to 32-bit mode and installed with -x86, then everything worked.

Code: Select all
Cobra 0.9.2 on .NET CLR v4.0.30319 on Microsoft Windows NT 6.2.9200.0

This is because that darn PROGRAMFILES environment variable includes " (x86)" when running in 32-bit mode but not when running in 64-bit mode. I confirmed this by adding a trace to the "gacutil" variable in the "locateGacUtil" method of the installer.

I think you want to be using "PROGRAMFILES" and "PROGRAMFILES(X86)" instead of "PROGRAMFILES" and "PROGRAMW6432"...either that or use all three.
nerdzero
 
Posts: 286
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby Charles » Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:44 pm

Fixed in changeset:2863. I tested with both "ldr64 setwow" and "ldr64 set64".

I guess this means a 0.9.3 for at least Windows. Any other critical items that can't wait for the eventual 0.9.4?
Charles
 
Posts: 2515
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby pchapin » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:33 am

Just a follow up... it's working for me now also. I'm using revision 2876. I also recently installed Visual Studio 2012, Update 1 and that didn't seem to cause any problems.

Thanks!
pchapin
 
Posts: 46
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: Windows 7, install from workspace can't locate gacutil

Postby Charles » Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:18 am

You're welcome. Glad it worked out.
Charles
 
Posts: 2515
Location: Los Angeles, CA


Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 125 guests

cron