Forums

General question about Mono.

General discussion about Cobra. Releases and general news will also be posted here.
Feel free to ask questions or just say "Hello".

General question about Mono.

Postby Achletomeniak » Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:48 pm

Hi there,

i have a general Question about Mono.

IF.... a user has a software written in Cobra under Mono.
Let us say in the simple form of compiled Windows .exe.

He only can RUN the .exe if the has MONO installed on the Windows machine. Am i right ?

IF..... this is so , what MONO make he a install of ?
The same as the Developers from Monopage or from a different location ?

Is there a MONO for the android Tablet device ? I think no. Android seems only to have .NET.


WBR
ACH
Achletomeniak
 
Posts: 22
Location: Germany

Re: General question about Mono.

Postby Charles » Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:34 am

An .exe created by either .NET or Mono will generally run on the other. And I have done this before. I even took cobra.exe created on Mono on MacOS over to Windows and ran it.

You may have trouble if there are platform specific libraries in use.

Regarding Android, take a look at https://www.visualstudio.com/vs/android/ and https://www.xamarin.com/platform
Charles
 
Posts: 2513
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: General question about Mono.

Postby Achletomeniak » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:57 am

Thank you Charles,

this information prove again that cobra is one of the interested languages for programming choice.

It's worth it to go this way. There are no slowdowns for programmers indeed.

Everyone knows that cobras can bite. :twisted:

WBR
Ach
Attachments
cobra_master.png
cobra_master.png (240.61 KiB) Viewed 368 times
Achletomeniak
 
Posts: 22
Location: Germany


Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron