Forums

Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

General discussion about Cobra. Releases and general news will also be posted here.
Feel free to ask questions or just say "Hello".

Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

Postby PixelPartner » Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:28 am

I'm glad to see 41 other forum users using cobra 7.x without problems out of the box.

I have one:
I installed cobra on a Win2k box, a Vista box and plan to run it in Ubuntu 7.10 x64, as soon as I've built mono on x64.
The vista box, I don't like to work on at all, runs mono and the former cobra release fine.
On the Win2K box, mono works, but the last and the current cobra release both crash with "Could not initialize (0xc0000135)".

Any hints are welcome.
PixelPartner
 
Posts: 5
Location: Berlin/Germany

Re: Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

Postby Charles » Fri Feb 15, 2008 1:00 pm

This is definitely the right place to post. Unfortunately, I have no idea what the problem on the Win2k box might be. Cobra doesn't use any unsafe .NET code so there are no pointers or unchecked boundaries. Ideas off the top of my head include:

* Can you try passing -v:1 to Cobra? Does it print anything before it crashes? You can also try -v:2 up to 5.

* Can you try Microsoft .NET instead of Novell Mono on Windows 2000?

* Can you upgrade the box to Windows XP? Mono and Cobra must be better tested on XP than 2k.

I test Cobra on Linux so you should be okay. Although I haven't tested 64-bit yet. Please let me know if you have problems there.
Charles
 
Posts: 2510
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

Postby khjklujn » Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:56 pm

Under win2k/mono it looks like Cobra is trying to pull in an incompatible part of the .NET framework into mono.

I initially got a missing dll error for mscoree.dll. After installing the dll I got a "could not initialize" error. Tried installing a newer version of the dll, but it failed because the registry for the .NET framework isn't set up.

The sample mono apps appear to be working.

The .NET framework isn't an option for win2k. Not supported--won't install.
khjklujn
 
Posts: 29

Re: Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

Postby Charles » Fri Feb 15, 2008 8:30 pm

I haven't tested Mono on Windows, just:
  • Mono on Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger
  • Mono on Linux (RedHat and CentOS)
  • MS .NET 2.0 on Windows XP
I have an old, spare laptop. I'll see if I can uninstall .NET, install Mono and get Cobra working on it.
Charles
 
Posts: 2510
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

Postby Dafra » Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:37 am

On XP with Mono (and also .Net) installed, I get this :
Code: Select all
C:\Code\Test>mono c:\code\Cobra\bin\cobra.exe test_cobra.cobra
error: COBRA INTERNAL ERROR / FileNotFoundException / Executable not found: C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\csc
Compilation failed - 1 error, 0 warnings
Not running due to errors above.
Note that C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\csc.exe is there;
Dafra
 
Posts: 12

Re: Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

Postby Charles » Sat Feb 16, 2008 7:16 pm

Cobra always looks for the Microsoft C# compiler on Windows. Now that I have a setup with both, I can fix this. I still don't know why PixelPartner gets "Could not initialize".
Charles
 
Posts: 2510
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

Postby PixelPartner » Mon Feb 25, 2008 2:51 am

I solved it on one machine by calling "mono cobra.exe" instead of "cobra.exe" and hope this will solve problems on the others as well.
I'm sorry for this ".NET"-beginners question as I now would call it - shame on me :roll:
PixelPartner
 
Posts: 5
Location: Berlin/Germany

Re: Where to post OS specific problems and crashes?

Postby Charles » Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:07 am

No problem. Now we know and we can help future users.

Further questions and problem reports are welcome.

I think there is still a problem with running where "mono cobra.exe prog.cobra" will choke when trying to run prog.exe because Cobra wraps prog.exe in single quotes. That works fine on Unix-like systems (Mac, Linux, etc.) but Windows is picky and wants double quotes. Will be fixed in the next release. In the mean time, you should be able to do "mono cobra.exe -c prog.cobra" and then "mono prog.exe".
Charles
 
Posts: 2510
Location: Los Angeles, CA


Return to Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron