Page 1 of 1

Using Qt or wxWidgets with Cobra?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:38 am
by amfischer
Okay so I'm getting into the language and liking more and more what I see. I have the following question:

Is it possible to create cross-platform GUI applications using either Qt widgets or wxWidgets, and if so, how? The reason I'd rather use one of those than GTK is that they allow you to make something that looks more native on the various OSes than GTK does, or so it would seem. Are there Cobra bindings out there somewhere for either of those two, or do you have another suggestion for how I should go about creating a "native-looking" GUI application?

Re: Using Qt or wxWidgets with Cobra?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:56 am
by RIGHT_THEN
hey Mr. amfischer,

amfischer wrote:Are there Cobra bindings out there somewhere for either of those two, or do you have another suggestion for how I should go about creating a "native-looking" GUI application?


http://cobra-language.com/how-to/Qyoto/

Qyoto is Qt on .net. if you knew it allready i apolozise.

Any .net binding for any library would work with cobra too. because it is the same platform.
unless there is something in the library that is not implemented in Cobra or the implementation of
platform you are using like Microsoft.net or Mono lacks that feature. which is rare.

feature lacking in cobra could be reported here. usually trivial are implemented almost
instantly by Charles non-trivial or code breaking might get into pipeline and take some time.


Thanking_You
RIGHT_THEN

Re: Using Qt or wxWidgets with Cobra?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:51 pm
by ObtuseAngle
For wx.NET, there are some links here:
http://cobra-language.com/trac/cobra/wiki/WX.Net

and some useful tips on porting C# xw.NET code to Cobra here:
http://cobra-language.com/trac/cobra/wiki/WxWidgetsPort

Regards, Obtuse.

Re: Using Qt or wxWidgets with Cobra?

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:16 pm
by Charles
And if you install Cobra from source, you should now be able to slap @help on various expressions and types in order to get their interface (methods, properties, etc.).

Re: Using Qt or wxWidgets with Cobra?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 12:03 am
by amfischer
@everyone: Thanks for the heads-up and info, guys, you're a really helpful bunch! :)

@RIGHT_THEN: No, I didn't know about Qyoto yet! I admit I've not yet read everything on the site. <knuckles down to some serious reading>

@Obtuse: Same goes for you. I can see that I have, basically, all choices open—lovely! :)

@Charles: I've reinstalled from source after you fixed the Mac installation issue, and been fiddling with @help already. Just brilliant! :mrgreen:

Re: Using Qt or wxWidgets with Cobra?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:35 am
by ObtuseAngle
If you're installing from source (recommended, and incredibly easy on Windows - I'm using the Slik SVN client), you can easily get the latest wx-related patch discussed in this thread (although this might not even affect you).

Cobra - where even the bug fixes are fast. (Thanks, Charles!)

Obtusely yours.