Forums

Namespace aliasing/masking?

General discussion about Cobra. Releases and general news will also be posted here.
Feel free to ask questions or just say "Hello".

Namespace aliasing/masking?

Postby CodexArcanum » Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:45 pm

I just started playing with Cobra (really cool language so far) and decided to try implementing something fun to get a feel for the language. I'm referencing into a C# library (which itself is a wrapper for some C code, zany!) and this library has it's own version of type Console. This is ambiguous with System.Console.

In the sample code for the library, this is resolved by
Code: Select all
using Console = Wrapper.Console;
to mask the System version. You can also employ the using ... = ... syntax to alias a particularly arduous namespace.

Here comes the question: Is there any equivalent syntax in Cobra, or am I forced to use the fully qualified name?
CodexArcanum

Re: Namespace aliasing/masking?

Postby Charles » Thu Apr 29, 2010 8:59 pm

We don't have namespace aliasing at this time. I'm not opposed to it, but it hasn't been implemented yet.
Charles

Postby CodexArcanum » Fri Apr 30, 2010 12:55 am

Well, that's fair enough. Thanks for the swift answer!

It would be a useful feature, but it's not essential. Actually, it turned out that I only needed to reference the namespace once anyway since type inference took care of most other usages in the file. So I guess the language features in Cobra mostly amortize the extra verbosity in the occasional colliding namespace call.
CodexArcanum

Postby CodexArcanum » Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:39 am

Ok, I have to back to this issue because I am getting killed by it in my current test program. Here's some code real quick:

@ref "libtcodWrapper"

use libtcodWrapper

namespace RogueTest

class Game implements IDisposable

var scon as libtcodWrapper.Console?
        var con as RootConsole?